Tag Archives: city of dreaming books

The City of Dreaming Books by Walter Moers

The City of Dreaming Books by Walter Moers: In the tradition of Jansson’s Moomintrolls and Juster’s Phantom Tollbooth, here we have a story told by Optimus Yarnspinner, a dinosaurish creature whose entire life revolves around books. As our tale opens, Yarnspinner’s authorial godfather, Dancelot Wordwright, is on his deathbed. He gives Yarnspinner a short story that is so good that it caused him to stop writing. Yarnspinner then journeys to Bookholm, a city entirely devoted to writing and bookselling, to track down this amazing writer. This book is a real treat for bibliophiles. The illustrations are darling and the literary references are fun to spot. Not a book I probably would have picked up on my own; I’m glad I gave it a try.

Also posted on BookCrossing.

© 2010-2021 kate weber All Rights Reserved -- Copyright notice by Blog Copyright