The City of Dreaming Books by Walter Moers

The City of Dreaming Books by Walter Moers: In the tradition of Jansson’s Moomintrolls and Juster’s Phantom Tollbooth, here we have a story told by Optimus Yarnspinner, a dinosaurish creature whose entire life revolves around books. As our tale opens, Yarnspinner’s authorial godfather, Dancelot Wordwright, is on his deathbed. He gives Yarnspinner a short story that is so good that it caused him to stop writing. Yarnspinner then journeys to Bookholm, a city entirely devoted to writing and bookselling, to track down this amazing writer. This book is a real treat for bibliophiles. The illustrations are darling and the literary references are fun to spot. Not a book I probably would have picked up on my own; I’m glad I gave it a try.

Also posted on BookCrossing.

  1. sounds like a wonderful, enchanting book. Thanks for the review as I’d never heard of it before.

Leave a Comment


NOTE - You can use these HTML tags and attributes:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2010-2021 kate weber All Rights Reserved -- Copyright notice by Blog Copyright